YesNoOk

Camera Trickery Hyper: Freezing Non Targets (Read 2538 times)

Started by Thi2, November 20, 2017, 10:30:37 pm
Share this topic:
Camera Trickery Hyper: Freezing Non Targets
#1  November 20, 2017, 10:30:37 pm
  • Failed Animator
  • Am I supposed to say something witty here?
    • UK
Hello! My name is Thi2, I'm a new face around here.
I'm not new to MUGEN per say: I've been making things offline for years; while not necessarily pro I'm decent enough to make a couple of working fighters. Don't expect me to immediately get everything that gets brought up, I'm no serious coder, but I'll try damn hard to follow everyone's advice regardless.

Now that the introductions are over...

I've been making a hyper. It's a big Lvl 4 hyper, runs like a command grab. Uses a ton of custom states. I want to make sure the hyper looks good on any stage: Superjump or no. I plan to do this by using an animating background to simulate vertical movement without actually moving the screen. Therefore I've toyed with the idea of setting off a noBG flag, and bringing the attacker and the target in front of that custom animated background that will hide anyone else behind it...

So I got the beta version of the attack working... In a 1 v 1 fight everything works as intended! I must say I felt proper chuffed after all that work, I was actually quite happy to have made real progress on my most complex move to date. Then the scary part dawned on me: Simul Mode.
While the attack is running, the other two characters are free to do whatever the f they want to. There's no BG covering them currently, but when there will be they'll continue beating on each other behind the black. If you happened to be playing alongside the AI and it used the attack, you would have a period of time where you can't see what you or the remaining enemy are doing. That would be bad. So I plan to freeze the characters who are not involved:
That's where the problems begin.