YesNoOk

Burning/Poisoned Effect (Read 8195 times)

Started by Tyadran, July 03, 2017, 02:18:09 am
Share this topic:
Burning/Poisoned Effect
#1  July 03, 2017, 02:18:09 am
    • USA
Hi, I'm new at the whole MUGEN thing, and I've spent the past three days or so working on my first character, which is almost complete. I'm only missing one thing, really, and so far I've been unable to turn up useful information for it.

I'm looking to add two special conditions that can be applied to characters: Burning and Poisoned. Both of them should do damage over time (each one doing a different amount) and cause a palette effect while active, and Burning should have the additional effect of lowering the afflicted character's defense/making them take more damage.

Note that this is a fullgame project, so character incompatibility isn't something to worry about. Every character will be designed with these effects in mind.

My initial thought was to use two character variables, one for each condition, and have them checked in [State -2] and managed there, but I can't figure out if and how I can manipulate variables on another character. Ideally I should be able to define different values for each attack that would apply these statuses, to allow for different spans of time, but if that isn't possible it's not the worst thing in the world.

The main reason I haven't tried using custom gethit states for this (aside from the fact I still don't quite understand how to use them) is that I would have to make duplicates of every possible gethit state, and it still doesn't seem like a good way to let me define different effect lengths for each afflicting attack.

I'm open to any suggestions, and I can post any code or such that would seem helpful.

In summary of what I'm looking for:
- Allow an attack to change a variable of the opposing character
- Tick this variable down in [State -2] and manage its effect there
- Cause a persistent palette effect for the duration of the effect