YesNoOk

New Spriter Looking to Develop (Read 5914 times)

Started by Nikorasu, July 03, 2014, 12:12:57 am
Share this topic:
New Spriter Looking to Develop
#1  July 03, 2014, 12:12:57 am
  • Scrub
    • USA
    • burnohmysoul@yahoo.com
I'm new to the creation scene. I would like to create original characters.
I would like to know what dimensions I should use. Example: 50x100 100x200, 128x128 ETC.

I've been reading all the articles I could on 2DWILLNEVERDIE. They have proved insightful. I would like to develop fighting games. If I do not receive any farther teachings, or a mentor I will begin to develop RPG inspired sprites until I am good enough for MUGEN.

Also another note. How many different styles exist e.g. CVS, SFIII, DBZ V2. And why is GGXX hardly talked about?
Any advice or mentorship would be appreciated.

I have three personal projects in mind:
Mario Larenzo [OC]
Kaze [OC]
Subzero [Mortal Kombat].
----
I can drop these projects in favor of another project if it will help me to learn to sprite.
---
I guess I could be asking for a crash course into different styles.

---
My tools are
MS PAINT
PHOTOSHOP [e_e]
Last Edit: July 03, 2014, 12:31:16 am by Nikorasu
Re: New Spriter Looking to Develop
#2  July 03, 2014, 04:08:58 pm
  • SNK is life
The mentoring thing you're asking (for the second time, I think) seems very unlikely to happen.

Tips:
- Choose a Program that can use layers.
- Pick a move from a character you like, and trace over it to make it look like a different character of your choice.
- Use only 3 colors at first - Outline / Light tone / Dark Tone

That's your assignment for today.
#3  July 04, 2014, 12:34:32 am
  • ¡Ni p*ta ni santa! ¡Digo!