The Mugen Fighters Guild

Help => M.U.G.E.N Configuration Help => Topic started by: Gara on May 08, 2013, 07:11:54 pm

Title: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Gara on May 08, 2013, 07:11:54 pm
1) is there a way to get rid of the green line in the loading screen?
(http://img.xrmb2.net/images/693810.png)

2) how can you switch between window- and fullscreenmode ingame?

3) what are the main reasons why one should not switch to 1.1? just wondering

and btw, I hereby would like to suggest a FAQ thread for Mugen 1.1 :P


Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: G.Ryu on May 08, 2013, 07:33:43 pm
1) is there a way to get rid of the green line in the loading screen?

Search the line HideDevelopmentBuildBanner = 0 on mugen.cfg and set it to 1.
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Just No Point on May 08, 2013, 07:44:08 pm
and btw, I hereby would like to suggest a FAQ thread for Mugen 1.1 :P
Would you mind if I use this thread as a sort of practice FAQ? I'll add info I see asked in other threads here and will make this temporarily sticky till we get enough info for a true faq.
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Seravy on May 08, 2013, 07:56:13 pm
1. see above
2. Alt-Enter
3. If your video card can't support the OpenGL rendering mode. Otherwise, nothing, really. Just keep zooming stages in a separate copy of 1.1 where you add zooming compatible characters. The only actual problem (other than lack of the proper hardware) I have found so far was explods and afterimages sometimes not having transparency applied due to improper coding that by some miraculous way worked in 1.0. You can expect like 1 effect out of 100 characters to have transparency missing and that's it.
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Gara on May 08, 2013, 07:59:45 pm
Search the line HideDevelopmentBuildBanner = 0 on mugen.cfg and set it to 1.
Thanks!
Would you mind if I use this thread as a sort of practice FAQ?
yeah sure, no problem :yes:

@Seravy: thanks for the info :gugoi:

-----------------
edit:
2. Alt-Enter
unfortunately Alt+Enter doesn't work anymore, at least not for me
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Saikoro on May 13, 2013, 07:21:55 pm
Alright. Finally had some brief time to sit with 1.1.

Running BrokenMugen in 1.1 with OpenGL as your video render method warrants some... interesting results. It looks as if Two4Teezee did some specific things to make his fonts display because they all show up as if they are either negatives (As indicated by the main menu font selection: all grey), pink backgrounds behind some .pcx files (Select screen's "select your character" graphic) and the... entire Lifebar system looks oddly discolored, as in off-greens and pinks. To give you an idea as to what this looks like, think of messing around with a shared palette portrait inclusion and how it ruins the other 1,000 sprites in your .sff file.

I'm going to assume that this is more of an indexing/bitrate issue until I look into it further. However, when you change the render option to system, 1.1 runs exactly like 1.0, slowdown and all.

Any insight here?? My OCD is kicking in and I feel like ripping everything, indexing it to 32bits and then re-implementing all of that back in.  :knife:
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Taybear on May 13, 2013, 07:26:28 pm
I feel like ripping everything, indexing it to 32bits and then re-implementing all of that back in.

Do it.
 
unfortunately Alt+Enter doesn't work anymore, at least not for me

Doesn't work for me either It seems it was taken out. you have to set it to auto-fullscreen or windowed.
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: PRIIME on May 13, 2013, 10:24:12 pm
Is it possible to run transparent png files in mugen 1.1?

For some reason when I try to make some sprites with transparent background they show as black in 1.1
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Wolfenkrieg on May 14, 2013, 07:18:35 am
It should be possible. Is your opengl drivers updated? You must have a higher version of opengl or a set version of opengl to run it properly. Make sure you don't run it as "system" but as RenderMode = OpenGL
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Seravy on May 14, 2013, 08:02:15 am
Also make sure you saved your SFF in the proper format that supports it. The third option in FF.
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: JTR21 on May 14, 2013, 08:19:38 pm
What do I do if my font is messed up? how do I fix it?
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Saikoro on May 18, 2013, 07:47:17 pm
What do I do if my font is messed up? how do I fix it?

Messed up as far as what?? Color appearance?? I'm having the same issues and are assuming, in an educated manner, that the .png/.pcx file's formatting is messed up and conflicting with our displays. It seems that anything not properly formatted appears like its a negative or reversed colors. Even Mugen's hot pink, that's supposed to be your transparent color, displays it's ugly head.
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: JTR21 on May 23, 2013, 07:08:46 pm
What do I do if my font is messed up? how do I fix it?

Messed up as far as what?? Color appearance?? I'm having the same issues and are assuming, in an educated manner, that the .png/.pcx file's formatting is messed up and conflicting with our displays. It seems that anything not properly formatted appears like its a negative or reversed colors. Even Mugen's hot pink, that's supposed to be your transparent color, displays it's ugly head.

I see. That's unfortunate.
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Seraphs Ares on May 26, 2013, 11:30:43 pm
So  aside from the stage zoom, there is no way to get rid of the FPS counter?
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Bane13 on June 10, 2013, 01:39:48 am
Any idea why any 1.1 stages I download all have a black background? I have a pretty good computer with an intel 7 at 3.2 Ghz.  8 GB of ram and a GTX 580 video card with 1.5 GB of video memory. Stages that are not 1.1 are fine. Runs smooth. Thanks for any help.
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Bane13 on June 10, 2013, 09:54:32 pm
I found the solution. I had to make changes in the config file. Was set to system now using OpenGL. Works great now.
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Odb718 on July 01, 2013, 05:14:32 am
I've been looking and looking...

How do I change it from best of 3, to best of 5, or best of 7??


--------
Found it. It's in Fight.def
under
[Round]
match.wins = 2 ;3              ;Rounds needed to win a match
 
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Gara on July 02, 2013, 12:55:02 pm
what version of OpenGL is requiered to run mugen1.1??

'cause though my graphic card supports OpenGL (1.1) I'm getting the following error message:

"Initializing graphics...gameCoord 640x480...render mode 2_20...trying 640x480x32 mode 0x0...failed."

anyone an idea how to fix that?
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Legend Ivanhoe on July 03, 2013, 09:53:54 pm
Is there a way to calculate a precise zoomout/zoomin?
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Kanbei on July 04, 2013, 06:09:46 am
what version of OpenGL is requiered to run mugen1.1??

'cause though my graphic card supports OpenGL (1.1) I'm getting the following error message:

"Initializing graphics...gameCoord 640x480...render mode 2_20...trying 640x480x32 mode 0x0...failed."

any idea how to fix that?
I wanna know this too.
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Rdzreborn on July 12, 2013, 02:32:56 pm
I have MUGEN 1.1 when I played it the Characters are moving slow is there a problem with the stage itself
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Odb718 on August 15, 2013, 07:42:25 am
Have you tried the same characters on the same stage in 1.0?
It sounds like your hardware isnt up to par.
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Rayfa on August 19, 2013, 07:06:34 am
2. Alt-enter.
There you go hope i help.
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: borg117 on August 26, 2013, 08:34:24 pm
It looks as if Two4Teezee did some specific things to make his fonts display because they all show up as if they are either negatives (As indicated by the main menu font selection: all grey)
happened to me as well, it seems the 1.1 is kinda more sensitive to what .fnt file says. mine fonts had 1, 8, 16, 32 etc in "color depth", changing that to 256 via font factory made them work ok, while obviously 1.0 just ignored that line

My question is about transparency: it seems that controller Trans is ignored when used next to PalFX. same with animation settings in air. See i need Trans = Sub. without PalFX it looks fine, but once i do PalFX - it just disappears or even looks the same way like Trans = Add. Only happens with 1.1 in OpenGL mode. can't figure out what's wrong here so far

Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Fire Specter on November 13, 2013, 06:19:17 am
EXPLODS.

Well some of my static explods are moving according to the camera.

You know, explods used from fx,  to be used in a locked game.

used in some of my stages, for example,the fire are just moving in mugen 1.1
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: borg117 on November 23, 2013, 09:57:06 am
OK found a solution to that PalFX issue. it seems that Palfx is now calculating After the trans settings. so if you need to use palx with trans = sub, you have to write the colors backwards (since trans = sub turns all white into black and so on). as for the transparency setting itself, it gets fixed very well by the patch released by elecbyte later (mugen v 1.1.0.650).
as for the explods - yeah its made for the "layout" safety. explods which have postype = left,right,center etc (non-related to players) are now conctanly bound to the camera. it helps to build custom lifebars and system messages alot. also they are invulnerable to camera zooming. all you'll have to do is change the postype and coordinates. not sure if bindtime = 0 is still working the same, because all of the troubles with unbound explods are now gone
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: argyone on February 02, 2014, 12:33:06 pm
is there any way to ged rid of this new zoom feature..it really annoys me since i wanted the stages to be always zoomed out and some characters wont work properly because the hyper bg doesnt fit in the whole window (looks like cutted in the half sometimes when stage is zoomed completly out)
really..the only reason i want to upgrade to 1.1 are the new 32bit features
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Garuda on July 24, 2014, 02:41:01 pm
I am running mugen 1.1 and I like the zoom stage: only problem is that at hte beginning of the round chars appears very big and pixelated, like there is too much zoom in...
Any help?
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Odb718 on August 03, 2014, 01:03:23 am
I think a lot of us would like to be able to control the zoom on all fronts on the mugen config side and not each stage.

I personally would like to know if there's a way to disable zoom in mugen 1.1. I hate people who zone a mile away. It's very unfair to non-projectile characters. Especially oldschool ones.

How can we disable zoom?
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: argyone on September 07, 2014, 08:24:47 pm
ok so if there is no option to disable zoom at all how do i disable zoom on a single stage?
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: sonicbillymays on September 29, 2014, 02:48:08 am
go to the stage def file and you should see this EX:

[Camera]
startx       = 0
starty       = 0
boundleft    = -644
boundright    = 644
boundhigh    = -385
boundlow    = 0
tension    = 450
verticalfollow    = .75
floortension    = 200
overdrawhigh    = 120
overdrawlow    = 120
cuthigh    = 0
cutlow       = 0
tensionhigh = 480
tensionlow = -20
]zoomin = 1
zoomout = .65


switch zoomin to 0 and zoom will be disabled for that stage


Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: phantomzai on October 10, 2014, 06:25:51 am
http://prntscr.com/4upstd can anyone explain to me why this big black mark/outline appears on certain characters attacks in 1.1?
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Odb718 on October 11, 2014, 05:51:47 am
I was having something like that happen with my Samus for a long while. I think you need to try and re-save the sff as 1.1 compatible.
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: phantomzai on October 11, 2014, 06:13:48 am
I was having something like that happen with my Samus for a long while. I think you need to try and re-save the sff as 1.1 compatible.

in fighter factory?
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Odb718 on October 11, 2014, 06:44:28 am
yeah, I would use the drop down save sprites manually setting it to 1.1 beta.
Then just close the project and re-open it so FF3 cant make any unseen changes. Sometimes I feel like it does that to me.
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: phantomzai on October 11, 2014, 07:04:24 am
yeah, I would use the drop down save sprites manually setting it to 1.1 beta.
Then just close the project and re-open it so FF3 cant make any unseen changes. Sometimes I feel like it does that to me.
if by that you mean opening the def in ff3 then saving the def and sff whilst changing the format to mugen 1.1 then I just did that to this setsuna and this is the result. http://prntscr.com/4v168c
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: cameron3taylor on October 11, 2014, 07:49:08 am
Can anyone explain how I convert chars to mugen 1.1 correctly.
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: zan_master on October 27, 2014, 03:01:08 pm
where is shared pallete in FF3 ?
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Bannana on December 06, 2014, 06:48:46 am
Concerning updating stages to 1.1, what do I need to change so the zoom function doesn't go beyond the stage itself? Is it stagebound or camerabound (away from my computer, so I don't have the docs open at the moment and I probably got those wrong)?
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Golcarjack on April 01, 2015, 11:34:51 pm
When I run Mugen, I get a white/black screen. I have sound, and it seems as if everything works, I just can't see anything.
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Spartan89 on April 02, 2015, 04:01:49 pm
Concerning updating stages to 1.1, what do I need to change so the zoom function doesn't go beyond the stage itself? Is it stagebound or camerabound (away from my computer, so I don't have the docs open at the moment and I probably got those wrong)?


If you didnt find solution until now, try this -> http://mugenguild.com/forum/topics/mugen-1-1-disable-zoom-stages-always-zoomed-out-162149.0.html
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: -Greed- on January 17, 2016, 05:53:31 am
I would really like to know the math for finding out what Mugen standard portrait sizes  (25x25 for small, and 120x140 for large) in different localcoords are.

I know it's not something I'd expect, because doubling a character's size (640, 480) doesn't mean doubling the standard portrait size.  It would be helpful if I could reliably make HD portraits for stuff without relying on the forum to help me every single time. X_X

What is the math that goes with changing localcoord?
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: kain7th on February 12, 2016, 06:39:08 am
is there anyway to convert stages to 1.1? specifically this one? http://BLACKLISTED WEBSITE.com/forums/downloads.php?do=file&id=13973
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Dalkc on May 08, 2016, 06:57:47 pm
I've been away from the Mugen community for a long time. I've since moved to a Linux distro as my main OS, and Elecbyte's site is (still) dead... hence I'd like to ask, has v1.1 (or at least 1.0) ever been released for Linux in any shape or form? If not, is it at least functional in Wine?
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Wolfenkrieg on May 08, 2016, 08:31:27 pm
I would really like to know the math for finding out what Mugen standard portrait sizes  (25x25 for small, and 120x140 for large) in different localcoords are.

I know it's not something I'd expect, because doubling a character's size (640, 480) doesn't mean doubling the standard portrait size.  It would be helpful if I could reliably make HD portraits for stuff without relying on the forum to help me every single time. X_X

What is the math that goes with changing localcoord?

You dont double the portrait size it also includes system.def scaling and what resolution of mugen you using.

Normally 850x480 you double the portrait size. 1280x720 you triple it was 3.33 scaling. if you use 1280x720 mugen with 0.33333 scaling on portraits at system def
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: RSakazaki13 on May 17, 2016, 07:40:34 am
Is there a way to use CRI ADX again on 1.1? i'd love to hear my Character select screen music i used from Gundam Battle Assault 3 back in the day.
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Maliyana on July 10, 2016, 10:02:35 pm
How do I skip intros in watch mode?
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Boyblu on October 08, 2016, 10:17:54 pm
Whenever I use one of these characters:
http://blog.naver.com/sumin2393/220762885086
-
http://blog.naver.com/sumin2393/220762940663

I just crash and receive this message: http://imgur.com/a/UjGwo

How do I resolve this?
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Odb718 on October 11, 2016, 10:06:23 am
How do I resolve this?
open up the *.def file for the character and rename the file to something other than symbols. If the actual file names are crazy symbols you'll need to edit them too. Hopefully the whole file isn't corrupted. Looks like you "translated" a jap character.
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Tony 3rd on January 02, 2018, 05:49:22 am
I dropped a bunch of Winmugen stages on a 1.1b folder and they are moslty working fine. but when they run, this happens

(https://i.imgur.com/ZbmNdBg.png)
(https://i.imgur.com/ZsFOzgm.png)

notice that its not the boundleft/boundright bug, since the character don't actually go out of bounds.

And when you play on an actual 1.1b stage, it works fine.
(https://i.imgur.com/F8QXQD9.png)

my question is: what do I need to change?
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Odb718 on March 08, 2018, 06:20:33 am
So to not answer your question, I'd say put Apocalypse on a set stage...
But knowing you mean any characters on that stage cause the problem, I'm not sure how to fix that. I personally stay away from 1.1 because I do not like zoom on stages and all of my stages have problems similar to yours.

Taking a guess I'd say edit

[Camera]
starty = 0
boundlow = 0

[PlayerInfo]
p1starty = 0            ;Starting y coordinates
p2starty = 0
botbound  =  0     ;Bottom bound

[Scaling]
topz     = 0       ;Top z-coordinate for scaling
botz     = 50      ;Bottom z-coordinate for scaling
topscale = 1       ;Scale to use at top
botscale = 1.2     ;Scale to use at bottom

Try messing with these values and see what happens until someone tells you what is actually the fix. Who knows, you may have to rebuild the stage.
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: DeathScythe on May 29, 2018, 03:34:19 pm
So, I have 2 questions. I'm not sure if what I want is possible, I've tried searching for it but couldn't find anything.

1. Is it possible to make a combined team of characters to appear in the simul mode? For example, if Ryu is the opponent, his partner would be Ken, or if Guile is the opponent, Chun-Li would be his partner.

2. Is it possible to assign combined keys in one button? For example, in CvS2 for the PS2, there's a button that makes you press the 3 punches at the same time. I'm guessing this is impossible to do in MUGEN itself but I know it's possible with some softwares (the ones that map controller buttons and assign them to keys in the keyboard).

Thank you in advance :)
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: NotAGoodName on May 29, 2018, 08:24:29 pm


No and no*.

*Obvious exception is external hardware or software solution.  You can easily do this with a programmable controller or software.  Or if you have a money tree, just build a big ass arcade stick with hard wired buttons for macros.
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: DeathScythe on June 21, 2018, 07:14:31 am
Another question: is it possible to make a specific stage to not appear in the arcade / team arcade / team coop modes, but appear in the training and versus? For example, I have a stage that I use for a boss, I don't want to put "includestage=0" because I want it to appear in the training and versus modes, but it's weird when it comes in the arcade mode for characters with random stage. If it's not possible, I guess I'll have to use includestage=0 anyway...

EDIT: also, would be great if I could use certain stages for certain characters but still randomly. Street Fighter characters appearing in a random SF stage, while KOF characters come in a random KOF stage. This is probably impossible, but it won't hurt if I ask, right? :P
Title: Re: Mugen 1.1 questions
Post by: Odb718 on June 21, 2018, 10:43:30 am
That level of picking which stage for which group wont ever work.
If you have the stage listed for your boss, it's still possible for the stage to show up randomly.
You basically only have 2 options for including a stage.
It's going to be random in any mode, or it's going to be random in any mode and it'll show up for the specified character.
I dont know of a way to limit where the stage shows up at. It's just active or doesn't exist to mugen.