YesNoOk

A vaguely complicated system idea (Read 1376 times)

Started by 3, August 03, 2012, 04:31:10 am
Share this topic:

A vaguely complicated system idea
#1  August 03, 2012, 04:31:10 am
So after playing a whole bunch of RTS games, I thought it'd be interesting if fighting games had the same element of progression. I'm a relative novice to MUGEN scripting, and chances are someone has a better idea of how to implement the sort of thing I'm gonna propose, hence this post.

A description of the system:
The character has a "tech" meter, which gradually fills over time. The character can trade power for tech via a charge anim, or can increase the general rate of tech growth by controlling the screen with "nodes"; the more space you control, the faster tech grows, but nodes can be destroyed by being hit. Node influence doesn't overlap with existing influence, as the point is to cover the screen with influence, not spam nodes on top of each other.

When the tech meter is full, you can level up your character; doing this unlocks a previously locked move (which you select right there, although your choice is concealed from the opponent), increases your max power by 1000, and increases your base attack/defence values slightly. There are 5 levels in all, and each one takes more tech to get to.

tl;dr IaMP spellcards meets Zerg creep

Thoughts on how to implement this system:
A node is a helper in an arbitary state (10000 for example purposes). When placed, the node goes into anim 10000 which shows a visual representation of how far the node's influence has spread, has clsn2 at the center, and has clsn1 slightly smaller than the space it controls. The node's contribution to tech is simply AnimElem or floor(AnimElem/10)*10 or whatever works out best (the anim loops at the end obviously).