YesNoOk

Math for the Algebraically Challenged (Read 16514 times)

Started by aokmaniac13, November 20, 2005, 04:19:10 pm
Share this topic:
Math for the Algebraically Challenged
#1  November 20, 2005, 04:19:10 pm
  • Just a butcher on a mission
    • www.justnopoint.com/lbends
Okay I'm starting this thread as a "demonstration" of math operations to help total newbs manipulate variables in mugen.  In this case, time is the only variable.  I will post some of the basics and everyone else can add on to it. (I have supplied pictures for this tutorial, if you do not provide one I can make it for you.)

To start, here we have a set of Axes.  The origin is at the left-center, 0,0.

For all extents and purposes, we will assume the X axis represents Time.  Throughout this demonstration we will be manipulating time, which is why the graph does not include negative numbers in the X direction.
First we have constants. Constants are just unchanging numbers, like 10 and 20.  Here we have Y= 0, Y=10, and Y = 20

Notice they do not change due to time.  This is because time is not included in the expression.  However if we plotted Y = Time

You can see that Time is equal to itself, for obvious reasons.  We can shift this plot in many ways such as the four basic operations, addition,subtraction,multiplication, and division.

Using addition, you can set where the graph starts from, useful for possibly an attack that increases in damage the longer you charge it (Charging it for 0 time will still produce some damage)
Using multiplication or division, you can make that same attack charge faster or slower without having to change the laws of physics and cause time to go faster or slower.
Now we get more complicated.  Suppose the attack mentioned earlier was charging too slowly for you, but time*1000 is way too broken.  You can use an exponent for this.