YesNoOk
avatar

"Error message: can't open stage: random" apearing in playing arcade (Read 14143 times)

Started by rad111, February 02, 2008, 04:38:42 PM
Share this topic:
"Error message: can't open stage: random" apearing in playing arcade
#1  February 02, 2008, 04:38:42 PM
  • avatar
  • *
Sometime it will appear!
I set all characters is random stage.
My characters list:
[Characters]
Gokudb,random
goku_HD,random
SSJ2-Goku,random
gokou,random
gokugt,random
Gokussj3,random
Goku San,random
vegeta1,random
vegitaa,random
SSJ2-Majin-Vegeta,random
Vegeta-Type-R,random
vegetaGT,random
vegetassj4,random
vegettosb3,random
vegetto,random
vegettossj4,random
fusion,random
Gogeta 2007,random
NamekGohan,random
son-gohan,random
Teen Gohan,random
gohan2mov9,random
gohaninterg,random
gohan-kun,random
mistic_gohan,random
Goten,random
trunkz,random
gotenks-ssj,random
gotengt,random
trunks,random
ftrunks-b,random
supertrunks,random
trunkzz,random
trunksgt,random
PiccoloDOS,random
tien,random
chiaotzu,random
Yamcha2sb3,random
kuririnDB,random
krillin,random
kame,random
dende,random
nail,random
kaioshin,random
chibiubuu,random
ubuugt,random
Chichi,random
Videl,random
chibipan,random
Pan,random
satan,random
Paikuhan,random
gokujr,random
vegetajr,random
taopaipai,random
daimao,random
garlic,random
Bardock,random
Raditz,random
ssj4 raditz,random
napa,random
zarbom,random
recoome,random
ginyu,random
freezahd,random
KingCold,random
and19,random
20,random
and16,random
and17,random
Android_18,random
Cell,random
cell-jr,random
bojack,random
zangya,random
puipui,random
yacoon,random
x,;x
x,;x
dabura,random
majinboo,random
superboo,random
randomselect,;x;
Ultimate_bu,random
shinbuu,random
ssjboo,random
x,;x
x,;x
gohan ssj3,random
gohanssj4,random
Broli,random
BroliT,random
Evil ssj5 goku,random
Goku ssj5,random
TrunksEX,random
FutureTrunksSSJ3,random
Future Trunks SSJ4,random
I-Cell,random
cellform2,random
SuperC17,random
kurihan,random
Spopovich,random
ape,random
li-sheron,random
koola3,random
SuperNamek,random
lilde,random
M-Kool,random
BABY,random
bebi,random
super13,random
gold_oozaru,random
kibitoshin,random
freeza1,random
metal freezer,random
freeza100,random
broli_ssj3,random
ss4broli,random
Broli-eX,random
Super Garlic Jr,random
Picurin,random
vssj3,random
kakarotto iadora,random
kakarotto  Normal,random
kakarotto gt ssj,random
burta,random
Jeice,random
tapion,random
turles,random
babidi,random
reivegeta,random
janemba,random
the nightmare SSJ3HD,random
ssj5-vegeta,random
x,;x
x,;x
x,;x
x,;x
x,;x
x,;x
x,;x
x,;x
the nightmare SSJ3HD2,random
Last Edit: February 02, 2008, 04:57:39 PM by rad111
Re: "Error message: can't open stage: random" apearing in playing arcade
#2  February 02, 2008, 06:34:46 PM
  • ****
  • Don't care if it's a sword or an egg, put it down!
    • www.youtube.com/profile?user=CandoraAuthes
The Answer to the Ultimate Question:

For rare M.U.G.E.N. characters, click here.
Re: "Error message: can't open stage: random" apearing in playing arcade
#3  February 02, 2008, 06:43:52 PM
  • avatar
  • *
Re: "Error message: can't open stage: random" apearing in playing arcade
#4  February 02, 2008, 07:01:43 PM
  • ****
  • Don't care if it's a sword or an egg, put it down!
    • www.youtube.com/profile?user=CandoraAuthes
Well put "stages/random.def" or something. Otherwise, I'm pretty sure you can't do random stages. Because that can be left blank like

Gokudb, ,

Or just plain:
Gokudb

Because MUGEN randomizes stages automatically anyway
The Answer to the Ultimate Question:

For rare M.U.G.E.N. characters, click here.
Re: "Error message: can't open stage: random" apearing in playing arcade
#5  February 02, 2008, 07:02:46 PM
  • ****
  • When will The Dutch Guy start?
    • www.bmarquis.com/forum
If you don't assign a stage to the character, then you'll fight that character on a random stage. So you can remove all the ',random' behind the names of the characters.
Re: "Error message: can't open stage: random" apearing in playing arcade
#6  February 02, 2008, 07:09:31 PM
  • avatar
  • *
Well put "stages/random.def" or something. Otherwise, I'm pretty sure you can't do random stages. Because that can be left blank like

Gokudb, ,

Or just plain:
Gokudb

Because MUGEN randomizes stages automatically anyway

your mean-------the nightmare SSJ3HD2,stages/random.def

But this error message is not always appear when playing arcade game. Somtimes appear.
Random stages still success in my arcade mode?
Re: "Error message: can't open stage: random" apearing in playing arcade
#7  February 02, 2008, 07:15:41 PM
  • ****
  • Don't care if it's a sword or an egg, put it down!
    • www.youtube.com/profile?user=CandoraAuthes
Yes. Like that.

Well, if you want random stages to be played with your characters, you don't even have to go through the trouble to add the extra stuff like ",random". All you pretty much need is the charcter's name in the select.def. Because MUGEN always randomizes the stages anyway.
The Answer to the Ultimate Question:

For rare M.U.G.E.N. characters, click here.
Re: "Error message: can't open stage: random" apearing in playing arcade
#8  February 02, 2008, 07:21:14 PM
  • avatar
  • *
Yes. Like that.

Well, if you want random stages to be played with your characters, you don't even have to go through the trouble to add the extra stuff like ",random". All you pretty much need is the charcter's name in the select.def. Because MUGEN always randomizes the stages anyway.

Thank you teach me!

Your mean only write "character name" can get random stages effect and my setting "character name,random" is not wrong completely.
Re: "Error message: can't open stage: random" apearing in playing arcade
#9  February 02, 2008, 07:22:44 PM
  • ****
  • Don't care if it's a sword or an egg, put it down!
    • www.youtube.com/profile?user=CandoraAuthes
Yep. That's correct
The Answer to the Ultimate Question:

For rare M.U.G.E.N. characters, click here.
Re: "Error message: can't open stage: random" apearing in playing arcade
#10  February 03, 2008, 04:48:37 AM
  • avatar
  • *
Yep. That's correct

I discover "Error message: can't open stage: random" only appears in a case.
It is when I can't win Arcade mode , it will appear "Continue?" on the screen. It offers "Yes" and "No" for selecting .After I select "Yes", I enter selecting characters screen. Then I select character. After Selecting, this message must appear when loading.
Do you know what happen?
Re: "Error message: can't open stage: random" apearing in playing arcade
#11  February 03, 2008, 04:56:22 AM
  • *****
  • Coffee, Chocolate and MUGEN
    • Brazil
    • www.justnopoint.com/sparta/
Yep. That's correct

I discover "Error message: can't open stage: random" only appears in a case.
It is when I can't win Arcade mode , it will appear "Continue?" on the screen. It offers "Yes" and "No" for selecting .After I select "Yes", I enter selecting characters screen. Then I select character. After Selecting, this message must appear when loading.
Do you know what happen?

Remove the "random" word from the list and leave the space blank, like this:

KFM,,Order=99

this error happens because MUGEN tries to find a stage named random when you continue.


if you leave it blank, mugen will assign a random stage and stay on the one chosen first when you continue.
Re: "Error message: can't open stage: random" apearing in playing arcade
#12  February 03, 2008, 12:30:36 PM
  • avatar
  • *
Yep. That's correct

I discover "Error message: can't open stage: random" only appears in a case.
It is when I can't win Arcade mode , it will appear "Continue?" on the screen. It offers "Yes" and "No" for selecting .After I select "Yes", I enter selecting characters screen. Then I select character. After Selecting, this message must appear when loading.
Do you know what happen?

Remove the "random" word from the list and leave the space blank, like this:

KFM,,Order=99

this error happens because MUGEN tries to find a stage named random when you continue.


if you leave it blank, mugen will assign a random stage and stay on the one chosen first when you continue.

Your mean only write character name?

If I only write:
Guko
It will appear this message:
"Error message:can't open stage:"
"Order=99" must need existing?
Re: "Error message: can't open stage: random" apearing in playing arcade
#13  February 04, 2008, 02:49:09 PM
  • avatar
  • *
I try:
1. goku, ,order=1
2. goku,
3. goku

These ways still make this message appearing.

I see system.def:

;-------------------------------------------------------------------
;Continue screen definition
;Whole group is *2001.04.01 NEW*
[Continue Screen]
enabled =1;Set to 1 to show continue screen, 0 to disable

I set enable=0, after I can't win arcade, it will arrive main menu. And then I enter Arcade mode and play again. I never meet this message again. I think this way only can solve my problem. However, I lose "coninue" function in Arcade mode! ??? --; :'(



Re: "Error message: can't open stage: random" apearing in playing arcade
#14  February 04, 2008, 06:23:53 PM
  • avatar
  • *
 :) :) :)
I have found the solving wayfrom search this website.
Thank oniberserker!
I download this :
http://rapidshare.com/files/70871844/Winmugen_Fixed.exe.html
I use it to run the game. "Error message: can't open stage: random" don't appear again when I can't win arcade mode and select "yes" of continue message.
Re: "Error message: can't open stage: random" apearing in playing arcade
#15  February 09, 2008, 01:10:57 AM
  • avatar
who am i to say what is a hero? it is not the one who brandlashes a sword in battle, but the one who wields an idea that changes the world.
Re: "Error message: can't open stage: random" apearing in playing arcade
#16  February 12, 2008, 05:59:01 AM
  • avatar
  • ***
Lol, I'm glad he posted that link to fix the error. Been annoying the hell outta me.