YesNoOk

Implementing a Granblue Fantasy Versus-like skill icon (Read 2148 times)

Started by Slivern, November 06, 2020, 11:35:16 am
Share this topic:
Implementing a Granblue Fantasy Versus-like skill icon
#1  November 06, 2020, 11:35:16 am
  • WE ARE NESTS: THE NEW WORLD ORDER
    • USA
I've been studying code from other MUGEN characters and there is something I want to do. In Granblue Fantasy Versus, there are skill buttons in that game where if you press a button, the skill is used and you have to wait until the cooldown timer for that ability is up.

My issue however, in addition to implementing that feature, is ensuring that the skill icon stays on the screen throughout a match. Similar to how a Warusaki3 CvS2 character would choose a groove at Round 1, and then the groove would remain on the screen (except the character I'm making isn't choosing a groove).

I'm not sure how to implement this yet. What I'm doing is that I'm studying code from NeoGouki's Chris (using his Orochi Mode), specifically where a meter would appear after the input for Orochi no chikara o mezameru, then the meter would empty over time. It has the kind of functionality I need for what I'm trying to do here, and the code is much more simpler to read and modify. Again, I just don't know how to make sure the icon itself remains throughout a match. The meter that appears during Orochi Mode disappears once the meter runs out. What else should I know or do?

The interface looks like this at the moment. The four squares just below the timer are where the skill icons will go.

Left: Skill Icon, full
Right: Skill Icon, empty
Last Edit: November 06, 2020, 11:39:57 am by Slivern
Re: Implementing a Granblue Fantasy Versus-like skill icon
#2  November 07, 2020, 12:40:02 am
  • Hedgehog Whisperer
  • Red Bull addict
    • Spain
    • xgargoyle.mgbr.net
You need to learn about Explods and persistent variables usage. This is all you need to basically code what you asked