YesNoOk

Target Friction Cancel and Cornerpush. (Read 27087 times)

Started by inktrebuchet, March 22, 2020, 05:19:12 am
Share this topic:
Target Friction Cancel and Cornerpush.
New #1  March 22, 2020, 05:19:12 am
    • USA
    • twitter.com/inktrebuchet
*NOT MADE FOR SIMUL MODE
This code is designed to cancel your opponents friction during hits. By doing this you can expect your opponent to be in the exact same spot after being hit, no matter what their friction is set to, so combos from one character to another are exactly the same.

The cornerpush code was only made afterwards, since this system doesn't work with existing versions. Vans’ corner push code was the one that I've always known about and was the one I studied for this. For more on his cornerpush code check out his characters and this article he wrote.

If you are wanting to use PoTS' or Vans' cornerpush code and not update hitdefs as described below, checkout this Friction Cancel/Replace version. It's a simple copy paste, no updates needed.

If anyone finds any bugs or ways to improve this code please let me know. Below is everything you'll need to get started.

Hitdefs can now have more accurate data to match source game. Since most games don't use velocity I've put together this example of how to properly write velocities to work with this system. You will need to grab slidetime and distance slid from source game, there's no need to adjust values to work with mugen here because with p2's friction canceled distance/time=velocity.
Code:
ground.slidetime = 9
ground.velocity = -(59 / 9)   ;distance / slide time
ground.cornerpush.veloff = 0
guard.cornerpush.veloff = 0
air.cornerpush.veloff = 0
airguard.cornerpush.veloff = 0
down.cornerpush.veloff = 0

*The code below does use one variable. It doesn’t need to be a float variable, that’s just what I had available. Besides that, this can just be copy and pasted.

This goes in [statedef -2]
Code: